phishing scams Question And Answer
360 phishing scam?
Yesterday I received 3 identical IMs from people on my friends list saying I should check out the new pics on their Yahoo 360 page, but the URL did not have Yahoo or 360 in the immediate domain. I did click the first one that came in, and I was redirected to what looks like a Yahoo sign-in page. I knew it wasn't, though, because Firefox told me it might be a phishing page. So I closed the browser, opened a new session, and changed my password. I also ran a quick virus scan and a Spybot update and search.
I guess my question is whether this is a widespread issue that I need to be concerned about, but also to remind folks not to click on links that show up without an introductory discussion to prove that the source is trustworthy.
BTW, I'll need to add the URL later. This was on my home computer. I want to say it was on sweedo.com or something. The page that appeared looked like a mirror of a Yahoo login page - just with a clearly non-Yahoo URL.
Answers
What was the url of the sign in site?
It IS widespread and it has been going on for years now on Yahoo messenger. If you had signed in, then you would have become infected and your messenger would have sent out the same IM but using your name, to all your contacts.
An instant messenger program should be treated just like e-mail, NEVER click on ANY link that you receive.
The best malware solution resides between the keyboard and the chair!
i kept getting a very similar im from the same person over and over to check out his new photo album. i wasn't directed to a link i had to actually download it.
just don't click on the link and you should be fine. it's a problem on their part, not yours.