phishing scams Question And Answer


How do I contact AOL (via e-mail) to notify them that a user is using their website for a phishing scam?

I receved an e-mail claiming to be from City County Credit Union and to be honest, was the lamest format I've seen for a phishing scam. It had this url in the e-mail: http://members.aol.com/thatsbguy88/ On their page, they have a cheap immitation of the real site: https://www.citycountycu.org I looked on their site as well to report the e-mail, but have forwarded it to spam@ftc.gov Thanks for your help, I appreciate it! I just checked up on the url I posted from AOL and it appears the contents have been removed. However, I don't think the user's account was suspended since it shows an empty directory listing now.

Answers

almost any system maintains an email address called abuse@ so you should try abuse@aol.com If that bounces then most sites have a web page for "contact us" which lists important addresses. That would be at www.aol.com However, it wont do any good unless you figure out how to turn on the view of "full headers". Lots of routing info is part of the email but your mail program doesnt show you. Its usally under "view" and called something like "full headers" or "raw view" or something like that. If you forward the email without turning that on first then the only info that is sent is the easily forged stuff.
If you go to www.scamomatic.com and enter the original email you recieved from the scammer"Dear winner....etc" The scammers email address will be put on a smap list and blacklisted. You can also report the website to www.aa419.com they get a buzz out of killing these sites ;)
Powered by Yahoo! Answers